Posted by: michellemuldoon | June 3, 2014

Blog Hopping

BUNNY(Image from

Home

Feel free to visit and see what they’re up to.)

Last week I was asked to participate in a cool social media experiment called a Blog Hop. The invite came from one of my fave humans, Rebecca Coleman, blogger extraordinaire and one truly fine baker. Her contribution can be found on her blog, Cooking By Laptop. Rebecca describes the Blog Hop as a modern interpretation of a Chain Letter and I couldn’t agree more.  While she blogs about the wonders of culinary experimentation, I blog about film, writing,  and me. Sounds a little narcissistic when I put it that way, doesn’t it?

Without any further discussion about me… I give you more about me. (And the narcissistic hole digs deeper… )

WHAT AM I WORKING ON?

I have a teleplay pilot episode on the go, a feature screenplay I need to rewrite and a web series that is screaming at me for some more episodes.  It seems, when it rains, it pours.

This is my bread and butter writing. This is what I love. My blog posts sprout from what I’m writing creatively. My blog is a dissemination of experiences, thoughts, lessons, and loves. I write about how my projects progress, the films I’ve see at film festivals, what I’m learning on my travels through film, and thoughts I have on how this whole crazy world works.

I wish I was like other bloggers, and could tell you what I’m planning, but I can’t. I don’t plan. I blog at least once a week, and what I decide to blog about is a last minute revelation. I am generally a planner when it comes to life, but when it comes to blogging, I’m all about the spontaneity.

WHY DO I WRITE WHAT I DO?

I need to feel inspired. Sounds trite, but in fact, it’s what makes blogging interesting to me. It’s not just about information, it’s about something that resonates with me, or something I want to share. My posts are often about giving due where it’s deserved. I have written about projects my friends have made, and I’ve used the blog to draw attention to the people I am indebted to for support and encouragement. I don’t like being a griper online. I’d rather spread the digital love.

I have found my most popular posts are ones where I discuss indie films I’ve seen and want to see supported, and posts that have been personal reflections on where I’m at and where things might be going for me. I think people like to feel connected to a journey so that they don’t feel their own journey happens in isolation. Even in the digital age, we’re still a communal species; finding solace and courage through our encounters with others. I think blogging is the digital version of reaching out and connecting.

HOW DOES MY WRITING PROCESS WORK?

I get up early, make my coffee, check on my social media responsibilities, then write. I look through my photos or search online for images, and then I post. That’s it, and not in a nutshell. That’s it, in it’s entirety.  I don’t plan a lot. I come up with an idea of what I want to say, and then I let the juices flow. I don’t need a special place to write. I don’t need to have my environment just right. I blog when I have something to say or share.

It’s not a long process, and it’s embarrassingly simple. Now that I think about it, very embarrassingly simple.

NEXT WEEK: Follow the blog hop trail with DANIKA DINSMORE.

 


Responses

  1. […] about their writing process (which is hi-la-ri-ous, because I’ve been asked to partake in a blog hop about my writing process). I agree with her to a point. If all a blogger writes about her progress […]


Categories