Posted by: michellemuldoon | September 11, 2010

What’s The “Score”?

As many of you know, or at least have figured out, I love to collaborate with The Land of Deborah, a local singer/songwriter/composer who really “gets” what I like to put on film.  

I was driving along and thinking about the song composer and film, after attending a script reading series last week called, The Cold Reading Series. It’s a cold script reading series that invites musicians to play partway through the show because they want to support “all” writers. I think this is a great idea.

This lead to my traffic induced musings on writing and I realized something quite incredible (at least it is for me). That is, when you collaborate with another screenwriter, you’re collaborating on the words. When you collaborate with a composer, you collaborate on concept, and yet often, you still do it through the written word.

My question is, why don’t independent filmmakers often leave something in their budget for music? I hear this complaint often from the few composers I know. Someone has finished principal photography, is editing their project, and realizes they need a score and they have no money left. 

So, I guess I’m just saying…. You wouldn’t “not budget” for a Director of Photography, and you wouldn’t short change your screenplay co-writer, so, don’t forget to share the love with your composer. They are as important a member of the collaborative team, as anyone on set.

On another “note”, I’m adding to the blogroll. Go visit the music enthusiast and find out about some new bands. You might just find a new favorite. The blog is run by Jacquelyn Brioux of Core Music Agency. They represent composers, as well as license independent bands and musicians for film and television. They know talent. After all, they licensed The Land of Deborah.

Responses

  1. Why do people not budget for post PERIOD. Ive had to do several budgets where I was specifically asked to only put in the line items to shoot the film. “We’ll get the finishing funds… later.” It never happens. Color correction, music and audio mixing are often left to the wayside and the ignorant filmmakers will tell me, “If a distributor loves my film, they’ll pay for it.” No. They. Won’t. Distributors want a FINISHED film. Just very frustrating that they can come so close and then they just shrug their shoulders. UG!

  2. As writers, we never hear the frustrations of producers. Thanks for sharing. I think we become better members of the film community when we know what everyone goes through to get the picture to screen.


Categories

