Posted by: michellemuldoon | November 9, 2010

Gratitude

A friend of mine posted a TED video with Brene Brown on her Facebook page this morning. For some reason, today, I felt compelled to take twenty minutes of my morning to watch. It had so many great messages to share, but what resonated for me was the discussion on gratitude.  So, you’re probably wondering what does this have to do with writing.  It took me a long hot shower to figure that one out, but I did, so here’s what I’ve got for you.

I, like many of you, write, enter festivals, go to script readings, send work out to producers, check in with my agent periodically, and place faith in the thought that this might be THE script, or THE month that things break. Along that way, there’s disappointment, rejection and dead ends. In my focus to make my break happen, the negatives  can sometimes pile up, and overshadow the positives. These days, with advertising bombarding us with the things we should want, but can’t have, I’ve decided I need to step back, and look at the things that I have, not the things I should want for.  Professor Brown says that joy comes from the ability to share gratitude. Well, these are the things that fuel my passion. These are some of the things I’m grateful for.

So here goes:

  • I am grateful for the incredible friends I’ve made along this journey.
  • I am grateful for my mentors, and we all know who they are. (See a previous blog post)
  • I am grateful every time a script makes a list at a festival, whether its official selection, finalist, or winner
  • I am grateful for the screenings my projects have received.
  • I am grateful for the friends and colleagues who indulge me when I ask if they would read a new script.
  • I am grateful that I still have a yoyo. Childish distractions are a wonderful thing.
  • I am grateful for Final Draught Script Reading Series. It was the first place I risked letting my work come out to play.
  • I am grateful for the Action On Film Festival. My involvement with the festival continues to grow, and I’m a better person for it.
  • I am grateful for the bottle of “Fantastic Bubbles” I keep on my desk. When I need to lighten my day, I step out on the balcony, indulge my inner child and blow a few.
  • I am grateful that one of my friends marks my scripts with a green pen. That pesky red one can be pretty disheartening.
  • I am grateful that every day I wake up with a passion for something that stretches my understanding of the world, and who I am in it.
  • I am grateful for passion, creativity, focus, love, pain, laughter, sorrow, emptiness and abundance. If I couldn’t feel it all, then how could I write about it?

I think that about does it, for now. I know what you’re probably grateful for; the end of this blog post. Just wondering, what else are you grateful for?

Categories

