Posted by: michellemuldoon | November 18, 2010

It Takes a Community…

I look at successful filmmakers and I don’t see a solitary person, I see a community. In some cases, that community is obvious, like with Judd Apatow and Christopher Guest. Their community is visible with every film they make.  In Christopher Guest’s case, the list includes; Catherine O’Hara, Eugene Levy, Michael McKeen, Bob Balaban, and Harry Shearer. In Judd Apatow’s case, his community includes; Leslie Mann, Jason Segal, Paul Rudd, Jonah Hill, and Seth Rogan.

This isn’t an accident. These are filmmakers who know what they value in themselves, for collaborations, and in friendship. It’s clear that they not only know it, but they live by it. You’re going to be surprised to hear this, but it reminds me of the best piece of advice I received when I started coaching high school volleyball a dozen years ago.

That piece of advice was simply, define your philosophy behind who you are,  and what you do, and then go live by it.  I loved that idea so much, I decided that it was great advice for living life.  I took a good look at myself and defined what I believe is the right way for me to be. By that I mean, who am I, how I want to represent myself, what is my value system, and how do I stay honest enough everyday that I can live and breathe it.

I’ve come to a point where I now see that as a recipe for success in anything I do. When I look at the people who show leadership in any environment, including film, I see people who do the same. They are consistent, and true to how they define their philosophy of being.

In the case of the two great comedic creators I’ve mentioned, they appear to be doing the same thing. They went out and found people who believe in the same principles of being and creating, and then built a community around that.

I know who I am. So, I know who I want to be around; who I want in my community. Can you say the same?

Categories

