Posted by: michellemuldoon | December 16, 2010

Writing is Writing

‘Tis the season for good friends, family, eggnog, tasty baked lovelies, parties, shopping, and generally, a full social calendar. Yes, ’tis “The Holiday Season”.

So, where does writing fit in with all of the above? If you’re like me, finding time to write this month is like trying to start a diet on Christmas Eve, almost impossible. Then again, here I am writing a blog. And isn’t this writing? And that’s the point I’m trying to make. In times when time is an endangered species, the key isn’t to focus on the work, but to focus on the process. Any writing is good writing in December, no matter how short, or how off topic.

Creativity is something that, by nature, doesn’t respond well to forced patterns and expectations. Many writers suffer the dreaded block when they set difficult standards or deadlines for themselves. My Mum always said, “Everything in moderation”. This month, I think a writer needs to be even more generous than that with their expectations.

If I write anything at all during December, I’m happy. And if that “anything” means not writing a screenplay, but satisfying my creative yearnings in other ways, then so be it.

I have a script I need to do a major overhaul on called, “Who’s Got Wendell Finster?”. Am I sweating bullets over not firing with all barrels loaded right now? No. This isn’t the month to sweat. January is. That’s right, while I’m planning to sweat off the tasty lovelies, I’ll spend some of my down time sweating over the script.

This month is for moderation. Moderation with the pastries, moderation with the holiday feast, and most importantly, moderation with the expectation that I can get a lot of work done on my screenplay. 

Next month is for resolutions. I think you know what mine will be. And for once, I’m going to follow through with it.

Now if there was only something I could do about my resolution to drop those holiday pounds.

Responses

  1. Very good blog Michelle! Keep it going!

    Happy holidays!

    • Thanks Max. Great to hear from you. Hope to connect with you in the new year and catch up!


Categories

