Posted by: michellemuldoon | December 30, 2010

The Promise of a New Year

The New Year is fast approaching, and I know it’s popular to talk about a new year, any new year, as one filled with great promise, but sometimes you just have to believe, no, you just have to know, it really is.

“Promise” is a dicey word, because it takes us to a place of great hope, but unless we dare to act on the “promise”, it’s as fleeting as the calendar year we attribute that “promise” to. I have always believed that a promise is like a dream. For a dream to become a reality, we must first give voice to it. By sharing the dream, we transition the dream to a goal, and by acting on that goal we create a new reality.

A promise is no different. If we try to tuck the promise of the new year away, keeping it close to our heart with the fear of losing it, we reduce it to an unrequited wisp of hope. If we lend voice to the promise, talk about how much we can accomplish this year, then we give it density, we give it a chance at life. It becomes much like a goal, something we strive to accomplish. It’s that journey of hope that often defines the success of a year.

To feel that the year is actually one filled with promise realized, you have to publicly acknowledge what that promise is. Here’s what I feel my year of promise is:

  • I believe the coming year will be filled with the promise of even better scripts. My writing will improve. and my work will be read.
  • This will be the year I get that first option deal.
  • Paisley Media will grow its portfolio and I will hit my stride as a director.
  • The New Year will be a celebration of the work created by my fellow writers at The  AOF 2011 Writers’ Room Invitational.  And I will be beyond proud of each and every one of them.
  • I will grow my “Circle of Kindred Souls”; the people who I will work with, develop projects with,  and create a cooperative and supportive film community with.

This is the promise that I cast forth on the winds that sweep into our lives this New Year’s Eve.

I wish you all a New Year filled by dreams that find life in the work you create and share with those you love, respect and value. I wish you all a year remembered for being filled by promise realized.

See you in 2011! Happy New Year!

Categories

