Posted by: michellemuldoon | March 12, 2011

Brave New Literary Worlds

Today’s post is going to be a departure from the barrage of Paisley Media announcements.  At the heart of everything, I’m still a writer, and nothing makes me happier than sharing a “writer’s oriented” blog post. 

As regular readers know (I do have some, don’t I?), I’ve struggled through my young adult screenplay, “Who’s Got Wendell Finster?”. I’ve either posted about the script, or used it as an example of struggles and revelations. Guess which kind of post this is. If you guessed, “What is struggles for $200, Alex”, then you’re right.

I’m on the third draft of the script, and I’m now removing chunks of it in order to simplify the “B” story, and focus on the “A” relationships. I’ve had to remove sections of dialogue that I adore. I never realized  before how hard this is. I’ve always prided myself on not getting too attached to my work, choosing to see it as a product I’ve created, in order to make it easier to let it go into the hands of someone else. My fear has been, if I start to think of it as my “baby”, then I’ll never really let it go; erroneously finding fault in the vision of a producer or director, making it impossible for the baby to ever fly the coop.

Unfortunately, I think I’ve deferred that possesiveness to specific facets of the screenplay. In a way, it’s as if I’ve  micromanaged my control issues. It’s like hiding the peas under the roast chicken bones so it looks like I ate more than I did. (Yes, I tried this as a kid, and no, it didn’t work.)

Yesterday, death’s literary scythe cut a large path through “Who’s Got Wendell Finster?”. I briefly shed a tear to my favorite pop culture reference, and whimpered a little when a loved joke coughed its last dying breath before the horror of the delete key hit.

It was hard letting go, but a new day has arisen, and I feel reborn by the clear-cutting of the screenplay, and the emergence of a brave new world of words. Sometimes the only way to get where you want to go, is to go backwards, find a new path and set forth for brave new worlds.

Give it a try sometimes. You might find it invigorating. I did.

Categories

