Posted by: michellemuldoon | May 21, 2011

Film Production Lessons

I’m smack dab in the middle of post-production on A Rendezvous. The performances in this film are riveting. I can’t wait to see it on-screen, because I can’t wait to see the reactions of the audience. However, before I get to that stage, there’s so much still to get done. For instance, we still need to get through sound design, visual effects and colour correction. Do I think we’ll get through it in good time? Absolutely! 

While we’re moving towards completion, I want to share a few lessons I’ve learned along the way.

A Rendezvous Lessons:

  1. If you think you know talented people, magnify that exponentially and you might be close.
  2. Ask nicely, and you never know what can happen.
  3. Find people who are really good at what they do, and stay out of their way.
  4. Listen to your gut.
  5. Live in a constant state of gratitude.  
  6. Working in film means living a life of collaboration. Enjoy it. Don’t feel threatened by it.
  7. Your friends will help you survive anything.
  8. Don’t forget to laugh when the opportunity arises.
  9. Take time to ponder your choices. Never let yourself feel rushed.
  10. When it’s time to make the decision, don’t waffle. Make it. Live with it. Own it.
  11. Love what you do. Cherish the people you do it with.

I know a lot of this is “cheesy”, but heck, I’m not lactose intolerant, so why not.  I’m grateful for everyone and everything that has gotten A Rendezvous to this stage of completion.  I promise to stay out of their way for the rest of post, make decisions in a timely manner, own the results of those decisions, and never forget to say, THANK YOU.

Responses

  1. I’m impressed with this, but can you help me out with basic information on how i can make my home videos as a bigginer. I really need to know which ones are the right equipment for this, the dos and donts when making a video.

    • Hi Benjamin,

      What you’re asking requires a bigger answer than I can give you. You can make films with something as simple as an iPhone now, and then there’s the DSLR cameras, like the Canon 5D. With the 5D, the more of the lenses you have, the more you can do with it. There are a lot of cameras you can use, and some of them may be more appropriate for what you want to do. The sky is really the limit. (Then there’s editing systems, and memory cards for the digital cameras to think about.) My recommendation would be to go out and join your local film collective, volunteer on people’s projects, and meet videographers that might have time to chat with you, and give you more information. I’m not an expert on cameras, I have a DoP who is, and I rely heavily on him when determining what camera would best suit the project. Once you’ve talked to them, do your research online. This whole process is about learning, and more learning. I hope this feedback is useful. Best of luck to you.


Categories

