Posted by: michellemuldoon | May 27, 2011

A Rendezvous: An Update

Today is the deadline for the Toronto International Film Festival. TIFF is a premiere film festival, and not just for Canadians. I lived in Toronto many years ago, and even in the early days, growing pains and all, Toronto embraced the festival with all its collective heart. It’s a special time in the city, and one I’ve always dreamed of being a part of as a filmmaker, even before I realized I could be one.

A Rendezvous is officially in the hands of the TIFF selection committee as a “work in progress”. It’s one of the few festivals that accepts films in that state, and I’m very thankful for that. We’ve come a long way, but still have so far to go. Matt Furman and Jeremiah Goben have their hands full with our visual effects.  As they send me workflow progress reports, I am only now realizing what it takes to do what they do. When we call visual effects movie magic, we aren’t joking. It isn’t only magic on the screen, it’s also magic that they get it to screen.

Every time Matt and I talk (which is every couple of days), he tries to tell me all the math and science behind it, and honestly, it makes my head spin. I’m left asking him to, “Please, just make me pretty pictures.”   And yes, we both chuckle at how simple I’m trying to make it, even though we are both aware that it isn’t that simple.

Screening at TIFF with my friends and family present would be fabulous, but the process of creating with friends has been the most incredible  journey of all. A day doesn’t go by when I’m not amazed by the generosity of the people involved with this project; from everyone’s indiegogo donations, to the help of Thomas Billingsley with the equipment pick-up and drop-off at Whites, to the amount of work Mauri Bernstein and Matt Furman put in to get that “work in progress” DVD out to TIFF this week.

The joy of film is very similar to the joy of sport. It really comes down to one phrase, and that’s “the joy of effort”. In film’s case, it’s the joy of effort and collaboration. Thank you to everyone, and thank you to Mauri and Matt for all their hard work this week.

Categories

