Posted by: michellemuldoon | June 3, 2011

A Rendezvous Supports Sanctuary For Kids

 

Today’s blog is all about making a difference. It’s about someone who has made a difference to A Rendezvous, and to me personally, and how that has inspired me to do the same. 

When good friend Matt Furman suggested shooting the film on green screen, I have to be honest, I was a little nervous about the idea. It was so far out of my comfort zone, it was messing with the space/time continuum. And believe me, I’m not overstating that fact. Luckily, I ran into Amanda Tapping at the Women in Film and Television Vancouver Film Festival. She has been incredibly generous with her time and her expertise from the moment I approached her.

 Amanda Tapping is an amazing woman. She followed ten years on Stargate SG-1, with another successful series, Sanctuary; a program filmed almost entirely on green screen. She is the lead actor and executive producer of the series, and if that isn’t enough, she spearheads a wonderful charity called, Sanctuary For Kids.

Sanctuary For Kids has an inspiring mandate. Their mandate is to improve the lives of children in crisis around the world. This includes children who are dispossessed, exploited, and threatened.  Amanda clearly doesn’t think small.

The charities that receive support from Sanctuary For Kids include the Watari programs in Vancouver, A Nepal Orphans Home, Asha Nepal, and the Miriam Centre in Haiti.

Sanctuary For Kids is a hands-on charity. With start-up costs donated by Amanda Tapping and fellow founder Damian Kindler, you are assured that all donations go directly where needed. This isn’t an organization top-heavy in administrators. Your money gets used exactly how you intended it to when you hit that donation button.

I checked out the Sanctuary For Kids website, and was so impressed, I couldn’t help but want to do more.  What can we do other than donate? Well, for starters, A Rendezvous is going to be a vehicle for increasing awareness about Sanctuary For Kids. We will finish the film with their logo and a request to donate. The Sanctuary For Kids logo will be included on festival postcards and posters. We want to get the word out, that in these crazy times, you can make a difference, because someone else is giving you the forum to do it. 

I am asking everyone to do the same. Don’t be a passenger in life. Step up and make a difference. Lend a voice to a worthy cause.  If we want the world to be a better place, then we have to actively be a part of its improvement. Donate. Support. Share.

Sanctuary For Kids is making a difference in the world. Don’t you want to say the same about yourself? I know, I do.

SANCTUARY FOR KIDS WEBSITE

 

 

 

 

Categories

