Posted by: michellemuldoon | November 30, 2011

If Life’s a Bowl of Cherries…

Erma Bombeck  was one of the twentieth century’s great humourists. I challenge anyone to say otherwise. (And if you do, I won’t be listening to you.) She wrote with a populist appeal, which all great humourists do, and with a wit that always touched home. The one title I remember clearly from her many published works was, If Life is a Bowl of Cherries, What Am I Doing in the Pits?

I always thought this was great imagery; funny, relatable, and a deceiving truism. We’ve all felt this way, at some point. I know I have, and  fairly recently, too. However, I was at my niece’s wedding this weekend, and it’s events like this that make you sit back, and see the moments of your life that are worthy of celebration, and gratitude.

As much as I’ve felt like A Rendezvous, and I have experienced our share of “pits”, I cannot help but look at how blessed I’ve been to have the kind of support and talent behind it that will surely end in great success.

When I struggle to write, I now realize it’s just the perfect time to take stock of ideas, and concepts without feeling too flustered about where they might actually be heading. A block can be a great opportunity for reflection, and repurposing the game plan.

When my dreams, and the reality of life, feel the most conflicted, I realize, it’s a test to show me how much I truly believe in, and want the future I envision.  I’m lucky that I feel free enough to want to be more than I am, instead of feeling trapped by what could always be.

I think that Erma got a lot of things right. It’s a shame she passed away in 1996. I would have liked to see her write a sequel, appropriately titled for the twenty-first century mindset, of course; If Life is a Bowl of Cherries, Where do I Recycle the Pits?

Categories

