Posted by: michellemuldoon | December 12, 2011

End of Year Thanks

Thank you.

The last month of the year. I can’t believe it. It just seems like yesterday that I was wondering what 2011 would bring. Call me fickle, but out with 2011, and here comes 2012.  Yep, bring on the new year, and all the promise that it seems to encapsulate.

Before that can happen, though, I think it’s important to look at 2011, and ask myself, what am I grateful for. In true blog fashion, here’s my answer.

  1. The support of friends and family. This year has been a challenge, but without the amazing people in my life, it would have been even tougher.
  2. Creative collaborators. When you find people who are a joy to collaborate with, it not only makes everything easier, it nurtures your soul.
  3. Mentors. I say this every year, and that’s because I’d be nowhere without two special people. Yes, that means you, Del Weston, and Pilar Alessandra.
  4. Coffee shops. Really, coffee shops. Do you know a better place to people watch, eaves drop, and gather inspiration? If you want to write about life, then you have to be where it’s lived, and in this town, that means coffee shops.
  5. The Action On Film (AOF) International Film Festival. If you know me, then you know I can’t sing its praises loudly enough.
  6. VanArts. The students from the visual effects program are fantastic to work with.
  7. All the Head Writers in the Writers’ Room Invitational Screenplay Competition at AOF. You’ve given so much of yourselves and your time. Incredible!
  8. Mauri Bernstein, editor extraordinaire. A Rendezvous has had its challenges, and Mauri has stuck with me through thick and thin. She’s put far more time into this project than expected, and I can’t thank her enough.
  9. My monthly poker group. Amazing people; generous, funny, sarcastic, and just as bad at the game as I am.

There are so many people who have stood by me this year, and I want to thank each and every one of you. My fear in naming you all is, that knowing me, I’ll miss someone.  I’m looking forward to seeing all of you this holiday season, and  thanking you in person.

I have a feeling, 2012 isn’t about the end of the world, it’s going to be about the start of a brand new one.

Categories

