Posted by: michellemuldoon | December 31, 2011

Happy New Year

Happy New Year 2012

Tonight’s a big night. It either ushers in the end of the world, or the end of a difficult year. Guess which I’m betting on. Yes, the Mayan calendar ends in 2012, but I’m one of those people who believes that what it marks is the end of a mindset, not the world. I think we’ve already started seeing it. We consumed less this Christmas, and looked long and hard at buying local.

I read an article a few months ago about texting, and how it’s replaced a lot of personal contact for people. The only problem is, there is a measurable physical response to human interaction; with texting, there’s nada, zilch, nothing. However, what I’ve seen over the last year from many of my friends has been the desire to gather, share good drink, tasty food, and converse. More and more, we find ourselves craving the kind of engagement that stimulates our interest, and solidifies our place in the world. If computer contact has taught us something, it’s that it’s a tool that enhances our access to each other, but isn’t a replacement for human interaction.

2011 was the year we became more concerned about where our food came from, where our goods are made and how that affects people we don’t know, and will never know, halfway around the world. If this is how 2011 is leaving, and 2012 is entering, then I have great hopes for the new year. Maybe the Mayans knew something, maybe they didn’t. All I know is, a change in the way we look at our world, and ourselves, has started, and that can only benefit us all.

This year was the first really challenging year for me in film. I’ve been told that I was due, that everyone has one, so it’s weirdly comforting to know that it’s all par for the course. I did some things a little differently this year, including using film to support a charity. Next year will see the completion of A Rendezvous (I promise), we will grow the film’s committment to Sanctuary for Kids.  The logo will feature prominently in the closing credits, on the postcard, and on the poster.

In the spirit of hope, and with enthusiasm for the gifts of a new year, I ask you to check them out, and start 2012, with a donation.

May the new year bring you all that you dream of. See you in 2012.

Sanctuary For Kids

Responses

  1. As always, Michelle, you are so eloquent with your words and right on target with your view of this world, I do believe that 2012 will be the year women REALLY take over and without force, murder or mayhem turn our planet into a sharing, loving and cooperative place where humans enjoy each other and their gifts to the world. Happy New Year Mighty Muldoon!

    • Thank you Velvet, for everything; your support, and friendship. I look forward to seeing if you’re prognostication for 2012 is correct. See you back here, same time, same day, in 2013. 🙂


Categories

