Posted by: michellemuldoon | January 29, 2012

Awards Season

Award

It’s that time of year. Yep, every other weekend there’s an awards show. The popular thing to do is to criticize, and complain. I’m not here to do that. I’m here to tell you, I love it all. I mean it. Every last moment of it. I grew up watching the Oscars with a bowl of popcorn, and the whole family around the TV. The fact that I can now watch the Golden Globes, the Emmys, the Tony’s and the SAG Awards is all gravy to me. I only wish they would start showing the Independent Spirit Awards and I’d be in heaven.

What’s my point? My point is this; I love seeing people’s dreams come true. I love the celebration of success. I adore the procession of validation.  After all, isn’t that what we all hope for? I don’t care what you do in life, you do it to feel validated on a personal and professional level. I honestly believe that validation is the root of all human expression.

While awards season represents the validation of the select few, there are struggling writers, actors and producers that deserve the same kind of validation,  but in this very tough world, it’s often difficult to find.  It’s a shame that so many struggle under the weight of perceived obscurity, yet every day they touch, inspire, and encourage others to strive for the dreams that consume their constant existence.

I’m blessed with so many incredible people who encourage me to take at least one step, every day, towards my dreams.  I’m lucky, because not everyone can claim that. So, in these tough times, when it’s easy to feel the weight of obscurity pressing against the doorway to aspirations, when hope often seems overshadowed by the counter-culture darling that is anarchy and disillusionment, when dreams are often mistaken for nightmares,  and the distance between them seems littered with the landmines of failure, I ask you to take a good hard look at the people in your life. Look at them honestly, and unbiased. See them for what they really are; the life raft that the universe has thrown you.

My life raft is made up of the crew and cast of A Rendezvous, Pilar Alessandra, Del Weston, the writers of AOF, and the family that is the Cold Reading Series.  My life raft is also made up of long-standing friends, and family. They all deserve an award. They encourage, inspire, and amaze me. Without their positive energy, I couldn’t continue to define my voice as a writer, and express my point of view as a filmmaker.

This is my long-winded thank you. And these are the awards I want to give.

Responses

  1. This is so true and positive, we must support one another in our journey and express the joy and love we feel for each other.


Categories

