Posted by: michellemuldoon | February 29, 2012

Leap of Faith

It’s Leap Day, February 29th, and not surprisingly, it’s the inspiration for this blog post. Leap Day makes the year 366 days long. Some years feel long enough as it is, so adding a day might make it seem interminable. There’s always a flip side to that feeling, and it’s something I often struggle with. It gives you the opportunity to preach and practice the “glass half full” approach to making those 2012 goals sprout to fruition. A little too much “Susie Sunshine”, isn’t it? Like I said, I struggle a little with that.

If the struggle is what makes us stronger, if the decisions we make during the struggle defines us, then adding an extra day should take the pressure off for a little while, and give us the chance to tend to the dream. I don’t know about you, but I could always use an extra day to fulfill my dreams, or get the laundry done, whatever’s at the top of the priority list this morning.

And that’s just the point, isn’t it? A dream is a part of our every day life. It’s a passion that simmers under the surface, never disappearing, never threatening to overflow.  If you let it get out of hand, it sears everything in its path and makes life very painful. If you don’t tend it, keep the heat on it, it simply evaporates.

On this, a day that only comes along once every four years, I ask you all to look at your dream, and check its temperature. Are you stoking the fire, or are you letting it burn out of control? I know how hard it is to push forward, year after year. I know how easy it is to let the fire fizzle out. On this day, please, take a look at your dream. Care for it, stoke it, nurture the vessel that contains it.

I know I’ve let the temperature of mine drop dangerously low recently. On this Leap Day, I’m going to tend it, coax it back to life, and take a leap of faith that a low boiling simmer will make a successful dish.

Responses

  1. That’s a really good thought for leap year day. Maybe call it a contemplation day holiday.

    • It’s too bad it only happens every four years, isn’t it?


Categories

