Posted by: michellemuldoon | August 15, 2012

Action On Film 2012

Action On Film International Film Festival

It’s less than a week to go before I attend the Action On Film International Film Festival (AOF). The 2012 edition of the festival will celebrate its first year in Monrovia, CA (right next door to the previous host city of Pasadena). The first year in new digs is a big deal for the festival. Screening at the Krikorian Theatre means stadium seating, and a big budget feel to a festival that prides itself on supporting independent film with a maverick approach like no other festival on the circuit. A writers awards banquet, newly minted film market, and support for creatives pushing their boundaries as filmmakers and writers is just a small part of what AOF is all about.

This is a big year for AOF, and a big AOF for me. I will be attending on multiple days for screenings and awards presentations. The recognition and support I’ve received from Action On Film has given me the confidence to move forward, take risks, and continue on my film journey. Last year I primarily attended to celebrate the inaugural season of Writers Room Invitational. I’ll still be doing that, but there’s so much more going on for me at this year’s event.

I’m attending with a script and film in competition, and as a finalist in the AOF $100,000 Challenge. There are five remaining writers in the Challenge, and one lucky individual will find out that the festival will make their screenplay with a $100,000 budget, with the goal that it will screen at AOF2013. Yes, this festival puts its money where it’s mouth is, and supports writers so heavily, they’re giving away a feature deal.

On Thursday, August 23rd, A Rendezvous will receive its world debut at the Krikorian Theatre in a 5:30 screening block. I’m nervous, a little scared, and kind of excited. I’ll have friends, and co-conspirators (Melva McLean, P.H. Wells, and Joan Macbeth) in the seats with me. What more could I ask for?

Action on Film has become my home. I see friends every year. I celebrate their successes. I’m inspired, and supported to take risks, and strive to move my own career forward.  So tell me again, why aren’t you entering this festival?

SCREENPLAY NOMINATIONS

Who’s Got Wendell Finster?:

  • Best Comedy
  • Best Family Screenplay
  • Most Likely To Be Produced
  • Write Brothers Excellence In Comedy

Deadfest:

  • Finalist, The AOF $100,000 Challenge

NOMINATED: 2012 Writer of the Year

FILM NOMINATIONS

A Rendezvous:

  • Best Visual Effects
  • Best Produced Screenplay – Short
Categories

