Posted by: michellemuldoon | November 12, 2012

Hollywood Scriptwriter Column

Hollywood Scriptwriter Magazine Logo

A month ago I was brainstorming ideas for my blog with a friend, and the winning suggestion was to create a series on film festivals, and what movies stuck out from the crowd as films to keep track of. Low and behold, contacts were made, introductions went well, and the series concept became a column for a trade publication called Hollywood Scriptwriter.

Hollywood Scriptwriter is a bi-monthly subscription-based  publication that has been in existence for twenty-two years.  It works as both a business to consumer, and business to business publication.  Over the years the cover has been graced by the likes of Spike Lee, Steven Bochco, and Carl Reiner.  The magazine is going through a redesign, and I’m very proud to be a part of the process of change at Hollywood Scriptwriter.

My column will centre on the independent filmmaker, with an emphasis on writers, directors, and producers. I want to highlight the people who push their projects forward; who make feature films in an era where financing and distribution is an ongoing carousel ride of change. It doesn’t matter what side of the border,  or the pond, they come from; film is universal, and I  want the column reflect that.

My first sit-down is with writer/director Katrin Bowen, a woman who has made two feature films in three years.  Her first feature film premiered at one of the top three film festivals in the world, The Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF).  With another feature in development, this filmmaker works hard to make things happen, and if I was a betting woman, I’d say she’s a sure bet to success.

If that makes you even the slightest bit curious, subscribe to Hollywood Scriptwriter and find out why I think she’s a fascinating filmmaker on the rise.

Categories

