Posted by: michellemuldoon | December 30, 2013

“Thank You”: 2013

We’re on the verge of the end of 2013, and I find that I’ve been so wrapped up in the year end festivities that I’m late with the most important post of the year; my thanks to the people that matter, the people that made the memories that mattered, in 2013.

As I mention every year, I’m blessed with mentors; people that believe in me, push me, demand the best of me, and generally wave the pompoms during moments of doubt, success, uncertainty, and conviction. I’ve counted on two mentors since the beginning, and in 2013 they continue to be the people that I turn to. My thanks to my film and festival mentor, Del Weston of the Action On Film International Film Festival, and to my writing mentor, Pilar Alessandra of On The Page Script Consultations and Classes.  Del and Pilar are the rocks that keep my steps moving forward; always and ever forward. Without them, I can’t imagine how difficult this journey would be.

2013 sees the addition of a third name to this list. Lori Triolo of The Cold Reading Series has become a valued friend and mentor. Lori is an actor and teacher of Fitzmaurice Voicework and Meisner Acting Technique. She also supports the writer’s journey like no other person in Vancouver. Lori always challenges me to look at the big picture, to question what I want or expect from my efforts, and to look at why I do what I do. She is, in many ways, my philosophical mentor, and I can’t thank her enough for it.

There are many others that must be thanked. If I miss anyone, my humble apologies. There is not a single person who treads the same path as I that has not influenced me in some way this year. So, in no particular order, I give you my end of year thanks!

  • The volunteers of The Cold Reading Series: Jade, Lini, Stevie, Jeremy, Blaine and Colin. You make Monday nights in the summer something truly special.
  • Joan Macbeth: friend, writer, film festival partner. Joan and I have had many a grand festival experience together. She is not only a talented writer, but is the kind of person you want to share a beverage with in good times, and bad.
  • All the Head Writers of the Action On Film Festival Writers Room. Your tireless efforts to help build an event, and community, for writers-by-writers is appreciated more than you can imagine.
  • Kim Barsanti, Emilio Salituro and Brad Mellesmoan of Muse Artists Management. You have included me in your community of actors as a friend of Muse, and I couldn’t be happier to be a part of it.
  • Rebecca Coleman, of The Art of the Business. While our conversations have only grown as of late, I’ve benefited greatly from your regular newsletter; a pithy bundle of useful information that has helped shape my understanding of social media.
  • My family, who have supported everything I’ve done, and who repeatedly tell me, never give up.
  • Neil Clements. Because any man that sends me a Wallace and Gromit calendar all the way from Bristol isn’t just a great sound guy and friend, he’s a great bloke!
  • Carolyn Combs of Women in Film and Television Vancouver for bringing me further into the fold and encouraging me to not only become a bigger part of the organization, but to be my outspoken self while doing so.
  • Lisa Ovies for supporting my latest project, a music video for the song Hey You by The Land of Deborah, by coming on board and delivering exactly what she said she would.
  • The Land of Deborah, my collaborator, friend, and musical go-to-gal.
  • Shauna Johannesen for giving great notes, and sharing inspiration over coffee.
  • Mauri Bernstein, a great editor, an amazing puppeteer, a super chef, and an even better friend.
  • To all my friends who have supported me along this very difficult year; Arne and Michelle, who have put up with me the longest, the Poker Crew, who were there for me when my Mother passed away in April, Marc, for letting me gripe over the best carrot cake in town, and to Ilona, the personal trainer who got me back on track post-knee surgery, Thank You!

These are the people who have helped get me through this year. I hope you all are as blessed as I.

ThankYou

Responses

  1. Thanks for being you, Michelle.

    • Maggie, I’m so grateful for your friendship. Thank you.

  2. You’re so HOT

    • Takes one to know one, big fellah!

  3. Thank you, Michelle, for your hard work at Women in Film this year and for being such a generous host. I count myself lucky to have met you! See you soon and a Happy New Year! Katja

    • Katja, it’s been a joy working with you. You set the standard in hosting, my friend. I’m looking forward to more chats with you film, food, and life in general.


Categories

