Posted by: michellemuldoon | February 19, 2014

VIWIFF 2014

WIFTV Film Festival, aka, VIWIFF 2014

The Vancouver International Women In Film Festival is just over two weeks away and I couldn’t be more excited about this year’s mix of films. No, I don’t have a project entered this year, but instead take great pride in being a part of the festival’s selection committee.

The process was long and challenging, and the amount of films we had to watch was quite daunting, but the meetings more than made up for the hard work. Yes, the meetings were the reward. The committee was made up of a group of funny, passionate women, who hosted some of the best potluck meetings I’ve ever been to. The group that met debated, discussed, and common ground far more easily than I expected. This group of amazing women included Amanda Burke, Emma Bishop, Carolyn Combs, Katja De Bock, Kate Kroll, Emily Yakashiro, and Danais Yera.

I’m proud to say we selected an opening night film that is daring, and not for the faint of heart. Karen Lam’s supernatural thriller, Evangeline is an outstanding addition to a genre dominated by men. Trust me when I say, this ain’t your Mamma’s chick flick.

If we’re to see women’s contributions in film expand, then we need to support the women spearheading that expansion. Karen Lam is just that person.

Over the next two weeks I intend to highlight some of the films that I think you should see. If you’re a Women In Film and Television Vancouver member, then you can buy a $25.00 festival pass. It’s the best festival deal I’ve ever seen.

This is a film festival with something for everyone. Bring your friends. Bring your family. Bring a date. Bring all of the above. You won’t regret it.

Responses

  1. It was great working with you, Michelle! And I love the “punch” you all gave us to watch and select the fantastic boxing documentary Last Woman Standing.

    • We certainly had some great films to choose from this year, didn’t we?


Categories

