Posted by: michellemuldoon | March 14, 2014

Twitter Lessons

Colourful birds tweet.

I just passed my second year anniversary on Twitter and I have to say, I’m surprised I’ve taken to it so enthusiastically. When Facebook first came out, I swore I would never get on the social media bus, but I realized something crucial, it’s going to keep traveling on its route, picking up passengers, and moving their journeys forward whether I got on it or not. I had a choice to make, get on the bus or watch it go by. If I continued to stand on the sidewalk, the distance between myself and everyone else would keep growing, and I wouldn’t be able to keep up. It was time to get on the bus, and when I did, I made sure I took the Twitter transfer and just kept going.

Social Media has become the new “PR Machine”. Now, more than ever, we have access to the lives of complete strangers, and that allows us to make the decision on who we want to support. You keep hearing the word “branding” but I think people are beginning to hate that word, so I won’t use it. What I will say is, you have a chance to craft perception, and as I’ve said repeatedly, perception is reality. Who do you want to be, not who are you, is the underlying mantra of social media.

So, in a nutshell, here’s what I’ve learned over the last two years on social media:

  • Do you really want to be seen as that whiner that complains about everything, and if you do, ask yourself, why should people listen?
  • Who do you follow and why? If the way they post interests you, then maybe that’s the kind of posts you want to create.
  • Social media is about sharing. Bring something value-added to the experience of following “you”.
  • Build relationships. Period. BUILD relationships. Don’t follow me, in order that I follow you back, just so you can ask me to buy your book, follow your YouTube channel, or donate to your crowd-funding site. Honestly, why should I? There’s only a few thousand people who have already asked. Let’s converse, get to know each other, grow an understanding. Then, I’m happy to support you!
  • Use visual content. Images are becoming the next darling. Yes, I know, I’m not on Instagram or Pinterest yet, but I will be. It’s becoming the mandatory bus route.
  • Be witty. In my case, I think the advice is actually, TRY to be witty. *sigh*
  • Lastly, I’d like to say, BE NICE. Kindness doesn’t cost a thing, whether it’s in the real world, or the cyber-world. Everything, and everyone, works best when fed a daily dose of kindness. Snark has its place, but too much of anything (except kindness) can be boring (unless you’re Grumpy Cat, then it’s OK.) In the immortal words of Will Wheaton, “Don’t be a dick.”

So, there you have it, my life lessons of social media, and Twitter in particular. Here’s to another year of getting to know each other. May your Tweets fly and your Facebook have many chapters.

Come find me on social media. Let’s get to know each other.

Categories

