Posted by: michellemuldoon | April 23, 2014

Writing Out of Writer’s Block

I am the hero of my journey.

Writer’s Block, the myth, the demon, the legend.  Someone should make a movie trailer about the journey to slay the demon, the entity that lives in every writer’s nightmare.

Writer’s Block arrives when you least expect it, and leaves when you’ve almost lost hope. It’s like that surprise unwanted house guest that shows up unexpected with no time frame for their departure. You endure with a smile on your face even though inside you’re cringing with every well-placed nicety. It’s all you can do to survive.

I have to admit, I’ve been a little blocked lately. Slow to write, slow to move pages along. I’ve become the writer that works in spurts; words and pages flowing like a flash flood down the Vegas strip, then nothing; drought, silence, the shriveling of a concept as dehydration sets in. Several years ago I blogged about the ways to beat Writer’s Block.  I know, it’s a little of the “physician heal thyself” syndrome, but sometimes you’ve got to grab the bull by the cojones and  squeeze for all it’s worth. (Just how many idioms can a gal fit in one post, huh?)

I’ve had an idea sitting on my brainstorming list for several years. I’ve talked about it to a few people, and I’ve let it sit, and sit, and sit. So, while I struggle to renew my voice in my original pilot, Masquerade, I decided to finally write the opening episode for a limited web series concept called, Meet The Twittersons.

Normally, there wouldn’t be a rush to break the block, but I have a script consult booked for the pilot on May 27th, 2014. Yes, that’s right, I booked a consult without having a draft. What can I say, I like the concept of a deadline. I wasn’t feeling it, Masquerade that is, or even feeling like I wanted to feel it. In a nutshell, I haven’t wanted to write. Until now. Until I knocked out six pages in a couple of hours last night and it felt good, really really good.

Has turning to a short form project broken my Writer’s Block? Possibly and probably. I’ll know more when I next open my Masquerade file. What it has done, however, is made me excited to write again. I felt the joy of completing something. I felt the satisfaction of typing, Fade Out. And most important of all, I fell back in love with creating original, flawed characters that have both something and nothing to say.

Kind of like this post.  What was the point again? That’s right, you’ve got to write in order to break the block that stalls your writing. Sometimes you’re focused on the wrong demon. If you can’t get past one, then ford a different part of the river, and slay a different one. You’d be surprised what the domino affect might be. Be your own warrior. Slay the demon, take control of the kingdom, and rule your pages with authority. If this doesn’t work,  create a new story, and begin the battle anew.

 

Responses

  1. I find that reading about writing helps overcome the block. Here’s a list of writing books http://www.slideshare.net/WritingPeople/25-great-screenwriting-books-33535105

    • Thanks for sharing. I find the opposite. I find reading screenwriting books only serves to clog up the system even more. I think actively creating in another medium helps far more. Then again, we’re all unique individuals, aren’t we?


Categories

