Posted by: michellemuldoon | April 29, 2014

Meet The Twittersons

The Cold Read of Meet The Twittersons(Photo courtesy of the twitter feed for “Single and Dating in Vancouver“)

I recently blogged about writing out of writers’ block, and the result was a web series pilot for an idea I’ve had kicking around for a few years called, Meet The Twittersons; the communication misadventures of Terrence and Twyla Twitterson in the age of social media and cell phone addiction.

Terrence and Twyla have lived in the back recesses of my mind for a couple of years; never really fully conscious, just sitting there waiting for the right time to take a breath. I knew the setting for the first and last episode, and maybe one or two others, but that’s about it. They were just there.

Last week I decided to rise to the challenge. What the heck, I thought, I wrote A Rendezvous in an hour and a half, why can’t I do this? To my disappointment, it took two hours to bang out just over six pages, but in all fairness, I wanted to look up my options for formatting the text and tweeting component of the script. What can I say, I’m a bit of a stickler for formatting. That ate up a little of my goal time.

Last night at my favorite script night in Vancouver, The Cold Reading Series, Meet The Twittersons was brought to life. Actors David Lewis and Justin Warrington brought their “A” game and gave me a reading I couldn’t be happier with. The response was overwhelmingly positive.  It was a little shocking for me. After all, this was a writing challenge to get myself out of writers’ block. And maybe that’s the key; I wasn’t expecting much, so writing the short just flowed. I think we sometimes place too much pressure on ourselves for everything to be perfect, and you know, a little imperfection can go a long way in freeing up the creative juices, and developing the kind of content that people can relate to.

It looks like I’m going to have to write those other episodes after all. Who knows, perhaps there’s a YouTube life in the future for Meet The Twittersons.

Categories

