Posted by: michellemuldoon | June 20, 2014

WIFTV Board 2014

Women in Film and Television VancouverMy big news for the month occurred last week when I officially joined the Board of WOMEN IN FILM AND TELEVISION VANCOUVER (WIFTV).  Yes, they actually let me join. And yes, they actually voted me on. It’s okay, I shook my head over that one, too.

All joking aside, I have to say that this feels like the right time to take the plunge into a bigger commitment to my community. In my mind, this distills down to the concept of community and my personal philosophy around it.

I have come to realize that everything we do as people comes down to community. We are a social lot, after all.  I hear people talk about it, but that’s what it usually is, a lot of talk. Here’s the kicker, community doesn’t just happen. It’s an ongoing process that requires the active participation of those who advocate for its importance. In other words, it doesn’t happen without the active and dynamic participation of those who claim they are a part of it, and believe in it. At some point, for community to work, every member has to step to the plate and take on additional responsibility. If responsibility does not rotate between the members, then inclusiveness is destroyed, and special interest takes hold. When this happens, the organization ceases to be functional.

Why do I bring this up? It was the basis behind my nomination speech at the annual AGM. It’s what I think is far more important than what I do, how my writing has been received, or what projects I’ve produced or directed. Resumes are the result of a person’s drive, knowledge and luck. Philosophy is what guides their decisions, dictates their choices, and defines their involvement with their fellow human beings. To me, that’s what you want to learn about someone, not what you find when you visit Ms. Google.

So, fellow Women In Film members, here’s my challenge to you. Define what you believe in. Define how you see yourself contributing to your community, then don’t just sit there and talk about it… GET OUT AND DO IT. We will be a stronger organization when we, as individuals, take on the responsibility of making our community better for each other.

So, tell me, what will you do for your community today?

Categories

