Posted by: michellemuldoon | July 28, 2014

Cold Reading Series Reads Masquerade

Aliyah O'Brien and Shauna Johannesen read Birthday Blues.

The Cold Reading Series will read the first half of Masquerade tomorrow night. Details below.

Date: Monday July 28, 2014
Time: Doors at 7 pm, Casting asap, Show at 8 pm
Admission: $5 (Suggested Donation)
Address : The Backstage Lounge (on Granville Island)

Masquerade is an episodic pilot based on the short script of the same name that I wrote last year. It’s an unorthodox take on a female action hero. Our protagonist is the world’s most notorious thief, Stasia Leone.  If you want to know more, you should come out on Monday night to hear the second draft.

Yes, I said second draft. It’s rough and I’m already committed to a couple of major changes for draft three. The advantage to having the script read at this point is that I’ll discover what else needs to change and whether or not the dialogue works. I seem to have a thing for writing tough, damaged, sarcastic female characters. Stasia is no different. Pacing is key for sections of this script. If the pacing is there, the script needs to deliver. If the quips fall flat, then draft three is a bigger job than I already envision it to be.

Monday night’s line-up also includes:

I Wanna Date U – a short film by Laura Adkin
Renovate Yourself – The Evolving Script Challenge by John Prowse, Michael Berube, and Lucas Floody

Come on out, provide some support and feedback to the writers, and maybe even buy us a brew. I know I’m pushing my luck with that last comment, but heck, I might need to drown my sorrows if my dialogue doesn’t work.

Categories

