Posted by: michellemuldoon | November 3, 2014

Frustration is Good

That’s right, I said it, and I meant it. Frustration is good.

What prompted this revelation, and why do I stray from my usual fact based content to muse about something we all hate to admit we wallow in on occasion?  I’ve spent the last five days sick, tired, and thus frustrated. And by sick and tired, I mean in the literal sense. I caught a bug which meant several days curled up in a ball in bed, ignored by my cat, and hugging a box of tissues like they were the love of my life.

So, there I am, chest congested, sinuses inflamed, weak from doing nothing more than make tea and what happens, I start to feel frustrated; frustrated that I’m unproductive, frustrated that I feel like crap, frustrated that I can’t even think about what I need to get done. Yep, that’s about it. Frustrated.

Well, yesterday I sat on my couch in a cold-induced stupor and it dawned on me, frustration is good. Frustration means I know what the other options for my day look like. Frustration means that I have ambitions besides sleeping and catching up on Facebook. Frustration means that I have dreams I want to actualize, and goals I need to meet. Frustration means I want to make life happen, not just watch it slide by.

So often we want to wallow in the dark days, we get frustrated and then we wallow a bit more. It doesn’t have to be that way. Frustration can inspire action because it demands resolution.  And most of all, it shines a light on exactly what we need to change in order to find the light at the end of the traffic clogged tunnel. Or in this case, the sinus clogged tunnel.

Embrace your frustration. Light a match to it. Watch it burn away as it illuminates the path to better days. It doesn’t always have to be bad. And speaking of action, I’ve got work to do. So do you. So, get to it.

NeverGiveUp

Categories

