Posted by: michellemuldoon | December 3, 2014

It’s In the Details

Last August I came back from the Action on Film (AOF) International Film Festival with the exciting news that EFC Film made a commitment to produce Dead Fest, my dark comedy screenplay set at the world’s worst film festival.

There was a lot of congratulations when I returned home, much handshaking and several beverages of choice raised in celebration. Last week a friend asked for an update, and then commented on how excited I must be.

Here’s the truth. I’m not.  Or to be exact, I’m not anymore. I know, you’re probably thinking I’m some sort of film heretic, a heathen, a horrible horrible person for not being excited about the opportunity we all pray for.

Let me explain. Making a short film was a lot of work.  Making a feature film is a hell of a lot more. Casting alone means getting through more head shots and demo reels than I ever imagined. There’s breakdowns, props and set decorations to consider, crews, locations, shot lists and a lot more not yet on the list.

This is not the time for emotion. It’s the time to bury my head in the work, and feel the joy of effort, and the thrill of knowing every time we get something done, I’m a step closer to making a feature film.

Principal photography still feels like a lifetime away, but every little step makes the reality of the project feel closer,  more tangible. Without the support and guidance of people I trust, the great people at EFC Film, Del and Theresa Weston, I wouldn’t feel so calm, and so focused on seeing a dream come true.

FILM Reel

Categories

