Posted by: michellemuldoon | March 19, 2015

A Letter to Actors: Part 2

FILM ReelDear Actors,

Yes, it’s me again. I want to say thank you for the overwhelmingly positive response to my last letter. You made a gal feel heard. You also set the wheels in my noggin turning. Once the gears ground down to stillness and the smoke cleared, I had an epiphany. If I am going to ask you to respect the craft and collaborate with writers, then maybe I should help you out a little. Let’s face it, there’s nothing worse than a know-it-all who doesn’t put her money where her mouth is.

For the last five years I’ve run an alumni writers event for the Action on Film International Film Festival. Just this year I established the international screenwriting competition for the Vancouver International Women in Film Festival. What this means is, I know a lot of writers.

So, here’s the thing, if you want to contact me with information on the short screenplay you’re looking for (genre, type of role, number of pages, locations, that sort of thing), I can forward your request to writers who might be able to help you out. I am not looking for involvement, and I do expect that you will show integrity in how you deal with the writers that come to you. I also expect that you understand the writer owns intellectual property rights and there are protocols around that.

There are no guarantees for anyone in this. You might find something, and you might not. What I hope though, is that you and the writers begin a dialogue that might take you somewhere further down the road.

It’s just a thought…

Sincerely,

Michelle

 

Categories

