Posted by: michellemuldoon | January 13, 2016

Balancing Writing and Filming

I have a confession to make, I suck at balancing the two aspects of my film life; writing, and making content.

I don’t know what it is, but when the minute I start pre-production, I stop writing whatever other project I’ve got going. It’s like my brain cannot fathom existing in two points of the creative space time continuum at the same time. It’s frustrating, annoying, and a downright pain in the patoot.

I look at writing differently than most. For me, it’s the joy of creating a fully visualized jigsaw puzzle realized as a story. I love creating people I’m interested in, and piecing together the image of story around them. I know some see writing differently, but for me, it’s like a game where I not only control the rules, I get to make them.

Filming is a different animal for me. The act of creating content is part creativity, and part logistics and analytics. As a linear thinker, it’s something I gravitate to. I love the collaborative process, and most importantly, I love seeing actors turn the characters in my head into fully formed three dimensional people. When you add in the imagery of lighting and photography, it can feel almost transcendental.

When I’m on a film set, I love it, but in the back of my mind is that little niggling urge to sit behind my computer, tune out all the noise around me, and write. Just. Write.

Deep in my heart, all I want is to …

Create. Epic. Shit.

Categories

