Posted by: michellemuldoon | September 28, 2016

Chaos Management: What a Run!

They say good things come in threes. If September and the beginning of October are any indications, then they come in fours and threes and it’s a combination that might have to become a lottery favorite of mine.

This weekend will mark the fourth screening of Chaos Management in the last month. The Valley Film Festival will screen our three minute short on Saturday, October 1st in this, the sixteenth edition of the Festival.  If I said I was thankful, it would be an understatement. Having worked as a screener for a festival, I know how tough these decisions can be. I’m  as excited to screen a year into our festival run as I was the first time it happened.

poster-chaos-1

(Poster Photo by Michelle Lamberson)

How have the other three screenings gone?  I don’t know where to start so I’m going to start at the beginning. Chaos screened the first full week of September at MartialCon in Los Angeles and was awarded the Best Director Award. A week later the film screened in Butte, Montana at the Covellite International Film Festival and was awarded one of three Short Film Awards. Then this weekend, after screening at the Austin Revolution Film Festival, Chaos Management was named Best Foreign Short Film.

I have never in my life had a month like this; four screenings, three nominations, three awards. It’s unbelievable. For a collaborative venture, “film” can feel lonely at times. You go through vast dry spells where it feels like you just haven’t been able to create something that connects with people and you might never will. There’s a feeling of frustration, as if your voice has gone silent and no one can hear what you’re trying to say.

Then along comes four festival directors that say, “I see you. I hear you. I know what you’re trying to do, and I support you.” When that happens, it’s like the heavens parted and the sun shines on your tiny imprint on the world. It leaves you a little light-headed and even worse, sorely lacking in a coherent vocabulary.  September 2016 has been like my personal Sally Field moment, “They like me, they really like me.” I’m still trying to wrap my brain around that. I’m still trying to shape the words to express my gratitude.

Austin Revolution Film Festival

I’ve been posting a lot about Team Chaos as of late. As a former athlete and coach, team is always the operative word for me. I know that the success of this film is not mine alone, but belongs to the entire cast and crew. Without the work and support of everyone in our credits, this month could not have happened.  I am grateful to the entire team, and think it’s high time I reminded you who they are.

TEAM CHAOS

  • Starring: Qelsey Zeeper
  • Executive Producer: Michelle Lamberson, Arne Toma
  • Producers: Frances Flanagan, Tijana Popovic
  • Associate Producers: Elena Butler, Jon Gale, Wendy D
  • Composer: The Land of Deborah
  • Director of Photography: Kenneth Lau
  • Editor: Mauri Bernstein
  • Motion Graphics Design: Krista Lomax
  • Production Manager: Tijana Popovic
  • Set Designer: Krista Lomax
  • Set Decorators: Frances Flanagan, Tijana Popovic
  • Gaffer:  Richard Macdonald
  • Sound Design: Kevin B. Barron
  • Colourist: Van Cooper
  • Sound Recordist: Eric St. Laurent
  • Voiceover Recordist: Nick Tyzio
  • 1st Assistant Camera: Marcus Fung
  • Digital Imaging Technician: Marc Baker
  • Slate: Mirella Gibeau
  • Make-Up: Hayley Miller
  • Assistant Make-Up: Denee Noel
  • Props Master: John Prowse
  • Set Photographer: Michelle Lamberson

Short Film Award

It can take a village to make three minutes on film. I don’t know how I got to be so lucky to be in this one.

 

 

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Erotic Vampire and commented:
    So happy for my dear friend and talented lady – Michelle Muldoon. I love that you are in my life.

    • Thank you, my lovely and talented friend. I’m so glad we met!


Categories

