Posted by: michellemuldoon | December 31, 2016

End of Year Thanks: 2016

Happy New Year 2016

 

There’s no denying 2016 has been a challenging year for many of us, which makes giving thanks a challenge of its own sort. But amidst the sorrow, obstacles, and disappointments there have been successes, new friendships, strength and certainty.

Certainty is that understanding that there is always another well of resolve within us. It’s that moment of peace where you know that no matter what, you will find a way above the struggle. It’s the confidence to know the path you are on is the path you have chosen, and the grace that comes with that acceptance is the grace that will hold you above the swirling grey clouds.

My year has been tough, but I have the certainty that it is a year I had a hand in creating. That acceptance allows me to see so much good that has come into my life this year.

So, in no particular order, and with the caveat that I may come back and add to the list as the day goes by, I give you the people and events of my year that I am thankful for.

  • For yet another year, I will start this list with Del and Theresa Weston. It was a tough start for all of us as my 0-1 Visa application was denied. We spent the previous year looking forward to filming my feature film Dead Fest in Los Angeles, but it was now a deal that had to be dropped. Through all of it they showed me what perseverance, focus, and passion for the craft looks like. They are shining beacons for many filmmakers, but for me, they are also people I hold close to my heart with love and respect. I thank them for their leadership, their trust, and most of all, for being exactly who they are every day of their lives.
  • My family. The support I get from my siblings and my father is beyond anything I ever expected. They celebrate the good times with me, and never let me talk about giving up. They are rocks of support and I love them for it.
  • Actor and producer Frances Flanagan. She’s the friend that calls just to check on me; not text or private message, CALLS. It’s a revelation in some circles but not for Frances. She’s always there with concern and offers of help. Now that I have her in my production circle, I am not letting go.
  • Joan Macbeth is a writer and friend who took over the Vancouver International Women in Film Festival Screenplay Competition from me. I was so concerned about the baby I birthed two years ago, but in Joan I found a writer’s writer who cares about how we are all treated and will run and grow the event with the kind of integrity that makes me proud to know her. Thank you.
  • My Prosecco Friday Peeps; Sarah, Jeremy, Lini, Stevie, Wendy, Joan, Barbara, Shelley, Mirella, Frances, Jane and many others who float in and out of the group. We are creatives that meet every couple of weeks for a Friday tipple of bubbles. Without them I would feel adrift, but with them I feel I have a tribe. We support each other, laugh with each other, and keep each other going when the path seems lost. Thank you to every one of you.
  • Victoria Angell is a 2016 addition to my life and I couldn’t be luckier. We share a love of creating, and of genre programming.  I have a ton of respect for her as a person and as a producer and I can’t wait to make film with her. Thank you.
  • Fernando Mico, Brian Boyd, Don Andrews, Tracey Adlai, Carolyn Combs and James Christopher. Thank you for screening Chaos Management this year. You are the kind of people who run your events with a passion for film, and for filmmakers. Thank you for letting me be a part of your festival journeys this year.
  • Lisa Ovies. What can I say. The Puppet Killer journey has had its bumps but you stood up for what was right; you stood up for your film. You set an example for everyone; fight for what you believe in, and never let go of what you know is right. Thank you for being my friend.
  • The AOF Writing Community, and most of all, the Head Writers of the Writers Room who make the community what it is. Thank you for volunteering your time because you care, and because you are willing to invest in each other.
  • Nadia DiMofte. This woman came to me one day and asked if I ever thought about teaching workshops. Thanks to Nadia, I now teach an Introduction to Screenwriting Workshop several times a year for Raindance Vancouver. She saw something in me, and helped make it materialize. Thank you.
  • Maja Aro, thank you for showing faith in my latest project, for offering your considerable skills as a stunt coordinator, and mostly, thank you for being the kind of woman that supports other women without judgement. I can’t wait to work with you.
  • Thank you Rebecca Coleman, my partner in brunch crime. We eat, we blog, we plot together. I look forward to sharing more great meals with you in 2017.
  • Kim Barsanti. Kim is a talent agent in town that merged her own agency with Lucas Talent, creating the second largest agency in Canada. She has always supported my projects. When she heard I wanted to make an all-female re-imagining of Gunfight at the OK Corral she called and asked what she could do to help. To finish this year with such a positive and active show of support from someone so established in the local film community has made me excited for 2017.
  • My short film Chaos Management won some awards this year, as did my feature screenplay Birthday Blues. I am eternally appreciative of the vote of confidence these projects have received. Knowing my work has received an objective stamp of approval makes the journey feel less uncertain. I thank everyone for that vote of confidence, for taking the time to read or watch, and for giving me a boost when I needed it.

I could go on, and I might at a later date, but right now all I want to say is THANK YOU.

May 2017 be a year with less bumps and more celebrations. May the year bring happiness, love and success in whatever ways you define them.  This place, here and now, is where you stand. May it feel like home. May it give you the safety to step out on a walkabout of life; a journey as yet undecided in 2017.

Happy New Year.

ThankYou

Categories

