Posted by: michellemuldoon | February 22, 2017

It Begins: Last Stand to Nowhere

 

Last Stand to Nowhere

(Banner courtesy Michelle Lamberson)

March marks the one year anniversary of the first screening of Chaos Management and begins the journey of the next film, Last Stand to Nowhere. Last Stand is an all-female re-imagining of Gunfight at the OK Corral.

Why a Western, and why make a female Western on the heels of productions that have had varying degrees of success or lack of?

I grew up watching spaghetti westerns on Sundays, often with my father. I loved the Enio Morricone soundtrack and the cinematography but more than anything I loved the lesson that, regardless of your moral fiber, there comes a time when everyone is forced to take a stand. Sometimes that lesson is a product of circumstance, and sometimes it’s a conscious decision made when a person is forced to a point where turning back is not an option.

I love action films, including westerns, but let’s face it guys have all the fun in those films. The story is told through the male view screen about characters men find interesting and can connect with in some way. Let me say it bluntly, that sucks. It sucks that women are either Madonnas or Whores. It sucks that when the chips are down, women have no influence on the outcome. It sucks that women are satellite characters and are ultimately reliant on the male hero bailing them out.

Women often struggle to connect with male heroes because they aren’t us. I’m done with that, and from the look of the amount of women who are interested in this project, I’m not alone.

My filmmaking has mostly been about perspective and how it influences connection. I want to see what shifting a key point of perspective does to our connection to an iconic story; in this case one of the most iconic testosterone-driven stories of the Old West.

Over the next couple of months I’ll be unveiling who has come aboard as we prep social media landing sites and a crowdfunding campaign. I think you’ll like what you see. At least I hope you do enough to make a donation. The team hopes to leverage these efforts for a strong BravoFact funding application.  By the time Chaos Management is close to finishing its festival run, our goal is to have Last Stand to Nowhere going to camera.

Stick around for what’s to come. It’s going to be a fun ride.

Pistol with holster and belt with bullets

 

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Erotic Vampire and commented:
    Great project Michelle. Thank you for your stand for women in film.

    • Ellen, I guess… you’re welcome. 🙂 I was once given some great advice; “Know who you are and live it everyday.” I like to paraphrase it as, “Know what you stand for…” I try to do that.


Categories

